9 Grains That Are Gluten – Free

by HealthyFood 4 views0

Gluten is part of the everyday life, and sometimes it is unthinkable to prepare a meal without gluten. However, for people with celiac disease, gluten is completely prohibited.

9 Grains That Are Gluten - Free

Gluten – free diet typically involves refraining from cereals, especially foods that are rich in gluten. Gluten – free diet does not necessarily mean renunciation of cereals.

These 9 grains do not contain gluten. The US nutritionist Korrin Fotheringham represents these foods, which are very tasty and nutritious, do not contain gluten and are prepared very easily.


Amaranth originated in South America, and is rich in dietary fiber and vitamin C. Great for all the people who are struggling with celiac disease as positively affect the rehabilitation of the entire digestive system.

Breakfast: mix 1/3 cup amaranth and ¾ cup of gluten-free oats, and season with a little salt. Add 4 cups of water and cook for about half an hour.


Buckwheat is a traditional peasant dish. It is rich in calcium and vitamin B. It has a special flavor, and is often prepared in the form of pulp.

Preparing buckwheat porridge: Cook the buckwheat for about 15-20 minutes with a little butter or olive oil, and season with a little salt.


Corn and corn flour is a rich source of fiber and vitamins C and A. And if you suffer from celiac disease and you are trying to restore your cells and quantities of vitamin A in the body, corn is the solution for you. It is important to note that the market has a lot of genetic modified corn, so it may be wiser to opt for organically grown products, with verified identification.

The corn can be prepared in numerous ways, including as polenta. The polenta is very tasty and nutritious form of corn that you can serve as an addition to almost any meal.


Millet is often a marginalized grain which is not used so much in modern times. However, it is very nutritious and easily digestible. Millet is a very cheap and contains large amounts of vitamin B and potassium.

For preparing millet you need is 1 cup of this grain, 2-3 glasses of water. Simmer on low heat for about half an hour.

You can prepare the millet also as a pudding. Cook the millet in 4 cups of mixture of water and juice during the 45 minutes to an hour.


It has become a very popular cereal. It is rich in iron and protein, and is often used by people who do not consume meat and foods of animal origin.

Cook one cup of quinoa and three cups of water for just 10 minutes.


Oat flakes represent the start of the day for many people around the world. Oats are very rich in dietary fiber and protein. As a rule, oats do not contain gluten, but during processing (warehousing, packaging …) it is possible to get “infected” with gluten, therefore, look for products whose declaration reads that they do not contain gluten.

The recipe for preparing oats is similar to that of other cereals: cook a cup of oatmeal with 2-3 cups of water for about 15 minutes.


Rice is used worldwide for centuries. It is rich in thiamin and it does not contain gluten. If you want to normalize the level of blood sugar, then use basmati rice, which takes a little longer to be digested.

If you want more dietary fiber, use brown rice which is cooked a little longer than ordinary white rice.

Cook one cup of rice with two cups of water, for about 10 minutes.

For the preparation of integral rice one cup of rice cook with 2-3 glasses of water, about 45 minutes to one hour.


This is however one of the famous cereal that does not contain gluten. Probably most people do not know that sugar cane can be consumed as a rice paddy. It is difficult to find it in integral form, but flour from sugar cane supplies to an excellent preparation of various bakery products, of course – without gluten.


Teff is an ingredient which is widespread in Ethiopian cuisine. It is rich in protein, fiber and other nutrients. Some even call it super grain because it contains five times more calcium, iron and potassium than every other cereal.